High school students who are in 11th grade and are interested in taking the PSAT to qualify for the National Merit Scholarship should check with their local high school counseling office about dates and registration for the test.

Taken from the National Merit Scholarship Student Guide:

The National Merit Scholarship Program is an academic competition for recognition and college scholarships that began in 1955. High school students enter the National Merit Program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®), which serves as an initial screen of approximately 1.6 million entrants each year, and by meeting published program entry and participation requirements.

To enter the National Merit Scholarship Program and compete for recognition and 8,700 scholarships to be offered in 2019:

• Take the PSAT/NMSQT in October 2017.
• Meet other entry requirements.

Program entrants must take the test in the specified year of the high school program (see page 6). The 2017 PSAT/NMSQT is the qualifying test for entry to the 2019 program. Most entrants will complete high school and enroll in college in 2019.

Click here to view the full Student Guide

National Merit Scholarship Deadline
Tagged on: